• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Please help me get over 300ft!

mrlizard

Bogey Member
I've been playing for a few years now, but only started working on my form a few months ago. I have a lot of bad habits to unlearn. I've tried to work on everything, footwork, hips, shoulders, grip,... but even though I feel like I'm getting more consistent, I barely gained any distance. Even if I hit a good shot my discs all hit an invisible wall at 295ft. Most of my drives (Teebirds and Leopard3s) are in the range of 265 to 285ft (measured with a rangefinder). Maybe one in 100 drives will go further than 320ft and that's a total fluke.

I know there is something off with my balance / timing, since I have a hard time to rotate on my heel and follow through, and probably with my backswing as well, since I often throw nose up.

I took a video yesterday, unfortunately only from the side, but maybe you can already see some obvious mistakes to correct and then next time I will also film from behind the tee.

My medium term goal is to reliably hit 330ft with a fairway driver. Any help appreciated!

https://youtu.be/zZOgaNP3cJQ

Last edited:
The "wall" is a definite sign of nose up.

The X step isn't doing anything for you right now, go back to a standstill and work on just that part of your throw. There's no brace in your plant foot and by trying to x-step it's messing up your throwing mechanics.

There are a lot of techniques/videos that you can look at for drills and such that would be helpful--sidewinder/seabass has all kinds of video links in these help threads.

But the first one I'd look at is the towel snap drill (just one example video of towel snap, there are others, but he makes the point: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_NqHc51LD_o&ab_channel=DiscGolf101 )