• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Pro vs. Am

Morg H

Just entering the 50+ division... and started playing tournaments in '23 so still figuring out a lot of stuff.
Any thoughts on Pro vs Am status?
Seems like the only big difference is the ability to play in True Amateur tournaments. Is that a significant limitation in your opinion?
Thanks!

How good are you? Plenty of MP50 dudes around here have player ratings of 950+.

What are your goals for playing in a disc golf tournament?

How long have you been playing disc golf?

If you want to make some cash(but usually not a lot) play pro, the best MA50 guys I play with can routinely cash in MP50 they just don't care as much.

Thanks for the responses -

I've been playing for almost 30 years - rated 920.
The cash isn't a motivating factor, but I usually place top 5 in MA2 or MA40 when in those divisions.

What are your goals for playing in a disc golf tournament?

How long have you been playing disc golf?
My goal is to have a good time, have new experiences, improve my tournament IQ

It's funny, score wise MP50 and MA1 are usually very close. But MA1 usually throw farther has more specialized shots and MP50 often putts better and has more polish.

Play where you are comfortable and having fun.

This is all about your motivation. We cannot answer that. Worlds is the one big question. If you are going to be interested in AM Worlds, then you have your answer.

This is all about your motivation. We cannot answer that. Worlds is the one big question. If you are going to be interested in AM Worlds, then you have your answer.