• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Putting: At what distance should one realistically expect to make it?

rowdyray

I recently acquired a practice basket for my back yard. As I practice from various lengths and positions, I find myself asking the question, "At what distance should I exepct to make putts on a regular basis?" I'm not a pro, but rather a very average player who has been playing a little less than a year. At what distance can the best players inthe world putt consistently and at what distance should the average player strive for?

8 steps Ray. That is in the 20'-25' area and you should want to make everything closer than 8 normal walking paces from the basket. Just practice till all the 8 steppers feel easy.

assuming no wind/obstacles/elevation, the best pro players can consistently putt out to ~40 feet.

slowroll's advice is spot on. You want to make EVERYTHING inside 25 feet. Even if you don't have a 'perfect putt' you can still make good percentages on these shots. What I have learned recently is that it's all about FOCUS. Put in the time practicing, and then put yourself in that headspace everytime you step up to putt.

Putting is the one thing that anyone can be good at. Not everyone can throw 500 feet, even with endless hours of practice. But put in the time, and learn the focus, and anyone can be a solid putter.