• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Putting woes

Jethoho

I've been practicing my putting pretty consistently now for a couple of months. I go through stages of not being able to miss, to being okay, then not being able to make a putt, and then back to never missing. This is all in practice. My putting during actual play has remained just okay. Practice for me usually consists of putting from 5 feet to build confidence, then a mix of 15, 20, and 30 foot putts. I carry four putters with me and putt all 4 from the same spot, then move to another spot. Other forms of practice, and my preferred method is playing horse or around the world with friends. This is where I tend to putt the best. I'm wondering if during practice I'm not focused enough and have no pressure to make the putt because there are no consequences. Anyway, I'm wondering if anyone has any advice, any ways to make practicing by myself more fun and challenging. How do you guys practice and build consistency? I'm struggling.

A lot of people will tell you that practicing every putt as if it's a tournament putt will keep you more consistent. Follow the exact same routine every time as if it's a tournament shot. That's all fine and good, and likely has merit, but it's boring to me, and I don't think it's strictly necessary.

Two things make you a good putter.
1. Your mental approach to it.
2. Finding the most comfortable, repeatable stroke FOR YOU.

I really enjoy practice putting, and I will usually put in my ear buds, play my favorite music, and just zone out. Don't over think mechanics or anything else...just be in the zone and develop the muscle memory. Sometimes I scatter putters around the yard and putt one at a time. Sometimes I hold a stack of 8 and putt all of them in a row. I don't think it matters.