• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Relearning to Throw

THansenite

I started playing disc golf last July. I loved the sport and started playing several times a week. I learned some control and was working on my technique based on what felt good. I hit a plateau at a pitiful 275 to 290 or so feet. I think my biggest problem is not having my front foot planted when I release. Last season, I tried getting a later release, but I ended up just throwing the disc into the ground.

I wanted to see what you guys thought about starting from scratch this spring and rebuilding my throw. Would it work to start with no runup, just standing at the front of the pad and throwing? Then adding a single step, x-step, short runup, etc. Since I am still pretty new to the sport and haven't become totally set in my ways, I am hoping this will help me relearn how to throw the right way.

Does anyone have any other suggestions to help me to fix my problem and get a better throw?

look in the technique forum, look at the stickies at the top, there is a technique primer sticky that has 90% of the threads that most folks have said "wow, this is helpful". Go read that. There are links to Dan's 'working from the hit back' video and that's where you should start. He walks you through starting from a standing position and what you should do to work up to an x-step. Great start. There are some other video links in there as well as some great topics.

Edit: Here's the link: http://www.discgolfreview.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=8925

There's a few hours of reading in that thread (that leads to other threads).