• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

THings to do with an old (beat to s***) disc?

cdelosr1

Hey all,

I'm a fairly new disc golfer. A couple months back I found a moderately beat up DX beast (no number, no name, so I kept it) while trudging through brush looking for another disc.

I've been using it on-and-off until today, while playing at my local course, a very cute golden retriever decided to "retrieve" my disc. As you might imagine, a dog biting into a DX Beast totally trashed it. It still flies, but only comically, there's no life left (I think) in it as a disc.

So, my question is, what can I do with it? Repair it? Recycle it? Can you recycle DX plastic?

Apologies if this is posted in the wrong section, again, I'm new to this. Kindly let me know and I'll be happy to move it.

You can sand them down and make them into wall decorations, a cool spin paint job can look nice. Also have seen a couple with spray stencils look cool.

A few times I've heard of people recycling them them, don't know how well it goes.

If the dog messed it up bad, I'd just let him keep it. He will probably get more use than you at this point.

Watch some roller videos and try it as your first go-to roller disc. Also, practice it as a
hyzer-flip-turnover disc.

Innova first run star stamps make excellent clock faces

-edit- In case any of you read that in horror, the only 1st run discs I've used for this are Grooves and a Wahoo

Decorative; one nail hangs it. I am partial to clusters on garage walls with nails through the flight plates of dead or fractured discs (pieces).

I wish there was a company that would take our old, thrashed discs for recycling. I would be happy to mail them 5-10 beat discs in return for a couple fresh ones!