• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

tips for the girlfriend

mjwilson

Bogey Member
My girlfriend and I started playing disc golf last year. I played ultimate for years so I have picked it up pretty well and am able to figure out what I am doing wrong and correct it. Unfortunately my girlfriend still struggles. She has good power but usually throws too high and on a hyzer. I don't know the mechanics very well, so I don't know what to tell her other than throw it lower and flatter. I enjoy the company but on bad days she gets really frustrated and wildly inconsistent and it's not much fun for anyone then. Any help on mechanics or dealing with her frustration is appreciated.

OP said:
tips for the girlfriend

Tips, as in plural? Well, aren't you two (or three, or four) the kinky couple...;)

Welcome! I started out the same as your g/f, but I was trying to throw some discs I had no business even owning or thinking of owning. I wish I had started with a cobra until I learned to throw straight. Also, a 150 g DX Valkyrie is a good driver for a noob to practice with.

A guy on here named Donovan will probably send you this link. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nED7gcXobEo

Seriously, though, you might want to check out Disc Golf Review's site. They have tons of info regarding proper form. It's all in one easy place (unlike here, where it is scattered willy nilly.)

There are even super helpful pictures for gripping correctly, throwing, etc....

My tips:

1. Only give her pointers if she asks. If she's already frustrated, it's not the time to offer unsolicited advice (if you want to keep her around and playing).

2. Keep her using low-speed mids and fairway drivers as they'll lessen the consequences of a bad throw and that hyzer angle.