• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Tournament Woes

Tvbeez

Hey, just wanted to get some thoughts and maybe some advice for the future from you guys. So I'm pretty new to disc and I played my 3rd tournament ever and I bombed.... again. I've been playing for a couple years and I like to be competitive. Ive been working hard at managing pressure and improving my mental game. I had a blast at the tournament. It was beautiful weather and a fun card.
Anyways, the baskets were on the older side and my putts are usually fast and strong. Almost all my drives were in circle 1 and I felt really good about that, but my putts were bouncing out of the basket, spitting out or cutting through. It was a joke between us card mates that the baskets hated me. I would hit chains dead center for birdie and have my disc bounce out and roll OB. I was so disappointed. It felt like the course was against me. I mean I literally had birdie opportunities on each hole but somehow I ended up 6 over par by the end. I need some support and encouragement. It's so frustrating being so close to putting down a really good round but just getting denied over and over. Really hurt my confidence and bummed me out. I guess I need to learn how to drop my putts into the basket... slow them down and let them fall into the basket slower? Any tips on how to practice slowing down my putt? It's hard because when I do that I feel like I miss more, especially during tournament pressure. I know I could have had one of the best scores if my putts would have just stayed in the basket. That's why they say drive for show and putt for dough. It's just frustrating because I was hitting my putts but getting so unlucky!

I guess this is why it's so addictive. All I want to do is play another tournament and do better.