• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Trophy only event?

snowren24

Par Member
so the first big local tourney of the spring is going to be trophy only. So this means no plastic payouts, just a players pack, and a trophy for the top 3 in each division, 1st only in rec.

I'm pretty new to tournaments, played in 1 last year, and a few ice bowls over the winter, and this is the first without a plastic payout that I have seen, and I have to say, its really discouraging me from going. I'm a rec player, with hopes of moving up to intermediate this year, though Ive never won anything in rec, at least there was the possibility of getting some new disc to try out if i placed, or a back up to my bag.

I guess I'm just wondering what people's opinions are on these events. I can see it promoting people to stop being baggers, but on the other hand, I see it discouraging attendance.

My other thought is where does the money go then? all those registration fees are not going towards the trophies I'm sure. are they going to the open divisions for extra cash payouts? or are the players packs going to be that awesome?

here is the event if anyone cares.

The registration fees are a lot cheaper than any "B" Tier that I have played in, which explain the lack of payout script and the weak players package... I would play it as long as the profits from the tournament are going to the local club. I also think that making the AM2 and REC divisions play from the short tees is LAME! Never seen that before in a tournament..