• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Where IS the nose?

Bassun

Hello all! I know the question seems kind of simplistic, and probably to 99% of DG'ers so elementary that it bears little comment, but - I am a little confused. Let me step back, then return to the question at hand, as it should make more sense.

Total noob. As in I've literally thrown like 5 rounds total. But, I've thrown a fair amount (for a rec player) in the yard. I'm an older short, heavy set body with relatively low flexibility (not from age yet, just never was flexible to begin with), but good strength and decent athleticism.

RHBH - X step.
Real distance - 167G Avair about 175 consistently on flat ground (maybe a couple feet uphill at the 200 foot mark max) (once I'm loose and warm), and about 190 on a better throw. Throwing it very flat, maybe 6 - 10 feet high max and very strait with little fade at the end. Generally within 15 degrees of target path, if I miss with the Avair, it is generally a little to the right, unless I grip-lock then waaay right obviously. First, I understand I could probably get more distance out of it by throwing it higher, and accounting for fade. But, from what I understand, if my form etc. is right, I should be able to laser it 200 feet with no issues.

I did the typical trying to throw faster discs than I should to start. All met with the expected results. I had bought a bunch of used disc's cheap, and got a mix of things, as well as a few new ones. I basically immediately dropped anything speed 11 and up. I do have a champion Beast which is a 10 that I planned on dropping, but I seem to throw it fairly strait - so I'm guessing my throw speed is maxing out at about a "10".