• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Wooded courses strategy question.

I'm still a beginner, but hole 18 on ZBoaz is a poak and pray IMO.

The disc width line is ridiculous.

Yes, there are disc width lines. That's the point of the statement poke and pray. You CAN get through, but the lines are so tight that getting through involves as much luck as skill.

I don't suggest this is common, but to say it doesn't exist is false.

To be clear, I'm only referring to one particular hole as an example of poke and pray. I have no idea what the OP is dealing with, but given my one hole I feel meets that criteria, it is entirely possible one could design multiple holes with the same circumstance.

Take the par 5 that Uli nailed at Waco (I think, it was Texas for sure). It is less than 300'. Per scoring average it is probably a Par 4. But the line is so tight that most ding a tree early. Most=vast majority.

Point is there are holes that rely on luck to create challenge/reward IMO.

I'm not suggesting they should be changed. I think it is an element of this game. Not one that should be incorporated often, but it certainly exists.

I definitely play a couple of poke and pray holes. There is one particular hole and there really isn't even a line to walk to the basket. I think I've had to back track every time I've played it. Last time I played it, I missed badly on my drive, bounced off between 5 and 7 trees and dropped it about 4 feet from the hole. That didn't feel right, so I threw another shot and managed to miss every single tree. Ended up about 40 feet left and long, but the tree is inside an inner and outer circle of trees, so I had to lay up twice to even get a look at the basket. There is absolutely no relationship between execution and result.