• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

[Innova] Best sport ever! Mako3, need help choosing one.

flannelking

Bogey Member
Hello everyone. I'm new to the sport and forum and have been playing close to two months. I'm in need of a straight "go to" midrange for throws between 100-200 ft. I'm seriously considering a mako3 but need help figuring out plastic type and weight. I like the feel of the star mako3 but i dont want something that will flop easy. 180 felt heavy in my hand in the store, so im going to check out a 176. 174'felt good. I'm 6 ft, about 215 and throw a forehand probably (thought I was throwing 400 but seems like the baskets used to gauge this are 300) 300 ft. Anything under 250 I use backhand. Thanks for any help!

Best sport ever! Mako3, need help choosing type and weight.

Hello everyone. I'm new to the sport and forum and have been playing close to two months. I'm in need of a straight "go to" midrange for throws between 100-200 ft. I'm seriously considering a mako3 but need help figuring out plastic type and weight. I like the feel of the star mako3 but i dont want something that will flop easy. 180 felt heavy in my hand in the store, so im going to check out a 176. 174'felt good. I'm 6 ft, about 215 and throw a forehand probably (thought I was throwing 400 but seems like the baskets used to gauge this are 300) 300 ft. Anything under 250 I use backhand. Thanks for any help!

To be honest, you should probably use a putter for anything under 150, and especially at 100 feet. If you like the feel of the Mako3, then go for it, but try and throw it clean, so it won't "flop." A disc like the Mako, or any straight stable midrange, should not turn at all for you at 200 feet. It should be nice and straight. Good luck with your field practice, and fine tuning your form.