• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Grip pressure?

mm1315

Par Member
Ok I've been playing for about 4 years now and have kind of reached a plateau around 400'-450' with my Saints and Wraiths being my longest that I just can't seem to break past. I've narrowed it down to a couple things but wanted a few opinions on grip pressure.

Basically I have a similar grip to Feldburg with the middle and ring finger tucked in against the rim, the index and pinky acting more as guides (I have small hands so can't get the index finger tucked into the rim like the others or it causes me to throw way to nose up). I get a good strong grip on it then with my other hand I twist and torque it to the point it can't move (this is where I'm wondering if I need to change something) turning my hand basically into a vice grip that you can't even try to take out of my hand. Basically the only way the disc is coming out of my hand is with a proper throw and a lot of snap to cause it to rip out of my fingers. This grip prevents me from using blizzard plastic or anything under 165 due to there not being enough weight to rip it out. I am very consistent and accurate able to hit my line 95% of the time this way but I'm wondering am I sacrificing distance for the consistency?

I've heard others say you need a light grip like you're trying to hold and egg and at the last second grip really tight (like right before the hit) to get true distance. And from watching pros in video that's what it seems like as well. I have good armspeed, reach back and general fluidity in my swing as well as a consistent hit. But I'm concerned my grip may be the issue of not reaching over 400-450'.

Thanks for any advice or tips,
M