• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

new recreation discer set help

south.texas.dead.i

Bogey Member
im new to the sport been playing once or twice a week the last month using friends disc, i have a birdie putter. what are a couple good discs for beginners? or a couple good ways to figure out what discs will work for me? i need to work on my form a bit but am starting to get the hang out it. shooting 3ish over par right now. tHANKS

I am new too, so keep that in mind, but I tend to get obsessed with new sports and have read and watched a lot of videos on selection. Here goes:

I really liked the Discraft videos on youtube. Especially those with Scott Papa. Great presentation and easy to understand when you don't know anything about high speed turn or low speed fade. There are other vids on youtube on selection that are great too. One by a member here that I thought was outstanding.

Having thrown a lot of discs from Discraft and Innova between my own and my friends', I'd recommend:

Drivers:
Avenger SS
Sidewinder
Cyclone(May now be considered a fairway driver)

Fairway drivers:
Leopard
Stratus
Cheetah

Mid range:

Buzzz
Cobra
Lots of people love the Roc(May even be a religion)

Putters:

No idea.

Hello fellow south Texas golfer! Given you are in Texas, you probably have an Academy, so I'll talk about what's available there. I recommend a Discraft Z Buzzz. The disc will do exactly what you tell it to(it will not correct bad throws as much like other discs, offering better feedback) and will last for a long long time. And as you learn to throw a lot better the Buzzz still be very useful.

Valkyrie leopard buzz and a putter if some sort.

All these discs you can use till you die! They will grow with you...