• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Thinking about buying a distance driver. Advise me using your knowledge!

Johnny Depth

Double Eagle Member
Hey guys! I am thinking about buying a new disc soon. I've been playing for the past few summers, so I'm pretty new to the sport still. When I first bought a disc, I had NO CLUE about discs and my first purchase would confirm that; I bought a champion boss. :(

I ended up talking to some people and did some research, so I bought a champion teebird, a buzzz, and a champion aviar. All of which I absolutely love. With the teebird, however, I can't get past around 350' so I was wanting to get another driver with more speed. Would it be ignorant of me to buy a disc with a speed rating higher than 8 or 9? I was thinking a TeeDevil, but I'm still uncertain. What would you guys recommend. I'm left handed, if that matters. LHBH

Try a Star Wraith. It's a good next step from the Teebird. It's a bit more on the understable side which will make it easier to throw for big distance.

I throw almost the same set up as you, switch the aviar for a wizard, and I am also lhbh ha. I recently added a couple Millennium Orion LFs to my bag and have been absolutely loving them. I snagged one in the base Millennium Plastic and one in the Quantum plastic.

They have a similar flight to my teebirds, strait with a predictable fade at the end, and also do not have a massive rim like many super high speed drivers.
OLFs are a speed 9 disc so they aren't super fast but they have great flight qualities to get high speed driver distances. Tons of glide and mine have been developing some high speed turn as they begin to break in.