• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

[Recommend] What single disc for total noobs (planning company outing).

Photoguy

Par Member
So I've ended up being tasked with ordering a pile of base plastic so ~20 people from my company can go out and play a course that is near where our all-company retreat is being held. Of course, this is last minute, my local stores shelves are "end of summer" bare, so I've gotta internet order in the next day or two.

There are only a couple of us at the company who play regularly. Most everyone else is a total beginner. Sizes & strengths vary, but I'd say most of us aren't muscle-heads.

What discs to order? Keep in mind that "having fun" is more important than "long term learning" for these folks. So suggesting a "comet, because it will teach you a lot and show flaws" isn't really helpful here. Money isn't there for buying a driver/putter 2 disc setup. So that won't work. Each person gets one disc.

I was thinking along the lines of a selection of Shark, Stingray, Leopard, and Buzzz with a couple of them being 150 class for smaller folks. I personally can't stand putting with drivers of any sort, and I felt like mids would have less of a chance of getting lost way off in the rough. No particular preference between innova and discraft, I just happen to be more familiar with innova's "beginner" discs.

I would go Stingray. Easy for a beginner to throw but someone who is catching on fast can still appreciate the flight of it.

Last edited:
Maybe buy a third JK Aviars, a third Polecat and a third Buzz? Polecat for its resemblance to a freestyle Frisbee and Aviar / Buzz for no bullwhip straight shots? Then ppl can choose and then switch around.

Shark would be a good choice. The local club used them for the same thing with great success.