• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Can I really go anywhere throwing forehand?

dlognittam

Bogey Member
Basically I've been playing this great game for a few months, and learned to drive forehand. My question is that should I continue this, or learn backhand (since 99% of the people I've seen play or that I've played with throw RHBH)?

I'm at the point now to where I know what my discs are going to do most of the time, but am still a beginner I guess. So should I keep improving my RHFH or switch to RHBH and do the whole disc down thing before it's too late?

Do both,I had done only RHFH for the first 6 or 7 months,been developing a backhand slowly,i would start with slower discs when you switch over,it makes the transition a lot easier,but i've noticed a lot more consistent scoring and shot shaping,especially when I have the option for whatever I need. So now instead of shooting low every now and then,my past few rounds have all been around even,which is nice.

Can I really go anywhere throwing forehand?

Aye, laddie, ye can if your heart is willing and your form is true.

1261715_o.gif

(it's really nice to be able to do both)

When I first started playing I threw exclusively forehand. I continued that for many many years and just recently started developing my backhand throw.

I still can't get the same distance with a backhand that I can forehanded, but I'm finding that the backhand gives me much more control.

The fundamental difference in flight of the two throws is that a backhand will spin much more than a forehand. The added spin opens up a variety of shots that are just not available to a forehander.