• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Curing Dye

tkupsc

I'm a bit of a newbie in this area of the game, but I've been reading the forums quite a bit and have worked my way up to some multi-colored discs using I-Dye poly and Oracal 651 on the premium plastics. During the process of unmasking between different colored dips, I'm getting a bit of residual adhesive that I'd like to remove with Goof Off. The problem is that my dye isn't curing quickly enough for me, and the Goof Off is taking dye off as well as the goo. Is there a method of accelerating the curing process? I tried deep-freezing the discs, and that didn't seem to help. Here's my first attempt at a multi-color, by the way, an ESP Comet.

Attachments

• 217.jpg
    217.jpg
    122.8 KB · Views: 56
Some dye is almost always going to come off when attempting to remove residual adhesive. I use Goo Gone and seem to have less of that problem, being citrus-based.

Freezing/chilling/cooling the disc does actually help the "curing" process, it slows the dye down. Difficult to say how substantial this process is without detailed/ expensive instruments to measure, but I believe it works.

Some dye is almost always going to come off when attempting to remove residual adhesive. I use Goo Gone and seem to have less of that problem, being citrus-based.

Freezing/chilling/cooling the disc does actually help the "curing" process, it slows the dye down. Difficult to say how substantial this process is without detailed/ expensive instruments to measure, but I believe it works.

When doing multiple colors, do you "cure" the first before the second / third / etc?

Do you freeze? If so, how long?