• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

DGC Rant: Course Ratings

Nemmers

Eagle Member
Silver level trusted reviewer
First of all, let me preface this Louis CK-esque thread by making a couple disclaimers:

First: While (like many of you) I'm a full-blown, four-alarm neurotic obsessive when it comes to disc golf, I'm a beginner. I've been exposed to the game for the majority of my adult life, but I've never picked up a disc to play until recently.

Second: Having said that, I really do fully understand and appreciate DGCoursereview.com and her devoted members; their thoughts, opinions, and advice have grown the sport over the years and have immeasurably improved the parks we're able to enjoy by way of free advertising and constructive criticism.

That said, I have a hard time accepting a poor review of a free DGC. Even if it's just nine baskets for 27-par in an open field, I have hard time swallowing that. Assuming the baskets perform as they're supposed to, of course.

Considering that we play for FREE -- on land that does not belong to us -- whose owner bought and paid for the equipment we use without paying rent -- took the time to design the course (elementary as it may be) -- and allows us to use it anytime without reservations and with no notice -- I don't think it's out of line to say, "Hey, the dude's a nice guy....let's give him at least a three for effort."