• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Different Plastics Test Dyed

JeCroisQue

Eagle Member
Disclaimer: This is my first time dying discs.

I recently bought some Rit Dyemore (orange) to dye some discs to make my bag all one color. I did as I normally do and went completely overboard and proceeded to dye about 24 discs of all different brands and plastics and some different colors. Some took really well and other, well, you can be the judge. My process was to fill 2 pans (not pots) with water and put in roughly 1/6 of the bottle in each to 8 cups of water. When heated this caused some of the liquid to evaporate so I was continuously adding some water and a bit of dye as needed. You definitely want to make sure you have an exhaust on the range and you may even want to use a mask. The dye did not take very well initially but worked really well when heated to around 140-180 degrees (verified with a thermometer). I was continuously turning the stove on and off to keep the temp in that range.

I attached a pic of the entire lot, with 2 pics more zoomed in. I can provide as much info, pics, and test some others if you would like. I have about 3-4 hundred discs and a few more could use some orange dye :thmbup:

The top left 4 were all innova color glow discs. These actually took the dye pretty well, the longer I left them in the redder they got as you can see the color gradient from left to right. These came out a mostly reddish brown, but the ones left in longer are a really pretty deep red color.

Next on the top row is 4 400g D2s that took the dye very well, the first was a purple one that actually took the dye and is a deep burnt red. The next 3 were plain white ones that worked extrememly well. Probably the next best compared to the 10x KC pro plastic.