• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Disc Dyes and Copyright Infringement

JerBenefie

Hi Community!
I have been dyeing discs for a couple years and sometimes get requests to stencil unoriginal art, and copyrighted material.

Would it be legal to sell a disc dyed with Darth Vader, Mario Cart characters, etc.?

Would it better and more ethical to trade for plastic with no money changing hands?

Thank you all for yoir thoughts!

No, its not legal. And its not less illegal to take discs instead of money.

No one is going to come after you for it though. I mean, if Gateway can mass produce illegal stuff, I think you are ok. Its all about whether you are ok with it personally.

I have made plenty of discs of copyrighted material for myself and friends and have no second thoughts about doing it.

No, its not legal. And its not less illegal to take discs instead of money.

What he said.

[/quote]No one is going to come after you for it though. I mean, if Gateway can mass produce illegal stuff, I think you are ok. [/quote]

It depends. Some copyright/trademark holders are more aggressive in identifying and pursing violations that others. It also depends on the C/T holder being aware of the infringement. If you're a small-time operator making the odd one-off and are operating under the radar, the odds of being discovered are fairly low. And even if you are caught, it's usually not worth the time or cost for a C/T holder to pursue a de minimis infringement. At most, you're more likely to receive a "cease-and-desist" letter. If, OTOH, you're churning out boatloads of infringing stuff and marketing them, though, a C/T holder may decide it's worth it to go after you.