• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Disc golf lingo/terms question

JimDK27

Par Member
I am really new to this sport on this message board and I am confused about some terms concerning technique and disc action.

First of all what is turbo putting?

Second, what does it mean to say a disc turns over?

What is the difference between tomahawk and hammer?

Any other common term explanations would be greatly appreciated. (I know what RHFH, RHBH, etc. mean)

I could be wrong here, but if it's released on an anhyzer angle, isn't it an anhyzer? I always thought a turnover was released flat.

"Turnover" doesn't necessarilly connotate a particular angle of release (ie - flat, hyzer, or anhyzer)...it just refers to a shot where the disc's right edge drops (for right-hand back-hand shots) at high speeds. You can release a disc with anhyzer and still have it turn over more to the right (assuming RHBH) than the angle you released it at.

Turbo putt...A Turbo Putt is an overhand throw with the thumb under the disc and fingers gripping the rim for spin. Grabs the chains nicely on regular putts. I have seen a lot of people so this with a regular putter also.

turboputt12.jpg

turboputtspiral1.jpg

Turn over... A throw in which a disc is released flat but is spinning faster than designed. This causes the disc to turn right (RHBH) during flight (I do not know the physics of why). It will fade back left at the end of its flight as the disc slows down if allowed to remain in flight long enough.

Anhyzer... The outside edge of the disc is raised up causing the disc to fly right (RHBH). This is done with the speed of the disc at the design level or slower. It does not necessarily fade back at the end.