• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Discs for beginners

loledu

I am trying to figure out which discs to buy my fiance. She is interested in playing dg with me but she doesn't interact with a frisbee on a regular basis. When I started playing I had a history with ultimate frisbee so it was an easy transition.

I'm looking for suggestions on driver/mid/putt and suggested weights. She would be RHBH.

Thanks

A DX Stingray for a Discraft Stratus. My wife only plays once in a blue moon and she uses a Star Stingray and she does well with it.

Better start off with any 160-168g mid-range drivers (Roc, Buzzz, Cobra, Cro, Comet, Coyote, Kite, Skeeter, etc.) if she have any sports background involving using arms like basketball, softball, etc. Or get lighter ones if she is very new to the actual outdoor sports for the very first time...:eek:

This way, she can only throw one disc for everything (drive, approach, & putt) until she actually knows how to make good driving shots. Then she can start trying out the real distance drivers or she can try yours to get the ideas. For distance driver, 150g will do or can be 160+ if needed.

Just let her have fun for couple rounds before start lecturing her about how to throw it properly. If she asked, then by all means, give her some cool tips and hope that someday she might get hooked and go pro!

Good luck! :D

An unbiased list of good beginner discs:

Putter: Innova: Aviar P & A; Discraft: Magnet; Gateway: Magic
Midrange: Innova: Shark; Discraft: Comet; Millennium: Aurora MS; Quest: Rock-It; Lightning: # 3 Flyer.
Driver: Innova: Cheetah; Discraft: Cyclone; Millennium: Polaris LS; Daredevil: Swift Fox; Lightning: # 1 Flyer.