• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Drop-ins

Justin Daniel

When holing out from super close, I see many players placing the disc into the tray. Is there any rule regarding crossing your hand over the plane of the basket? In other words, is it legal to gently place the disc in the basket, or must you release the disc before it enters the basket?

(I'm a total beginner and have read through the rule book once. A more experienced player gave me a hard time for doing this, and I was happy to be corrected as I'm a noob. But when I asked about the rule, he couldn't really cite one. It didn't sound familiar, but I may have over looked it.)

It is legal to place the disc into the basket in that fashion, as long as you are demonstrating balance in your motion.

You can reach over the basket but the disc can not be touching your hand and metal at the same time. You have to drop it in not lay it in the basket.
Touching metal with your disc creates a supporting point in front of your lie.

When holing out from super close, I see many players placing the disc into the tray. Is there any rule regarding crossing your hand over the plane of the basket? In other words, is it legal to gently place the disc in the basket, or must you release the disc before it enters the basket?

(I'm a total beginner and have read through the rule book once. A more experienced player gave me a hard time for doing this, and I was happy to be corrected as I'm a noob. But when I asked about the rule, he couldn't really cite one. It didn't sound familiar, but I may have over looked it.)

Perfectly acceptable to place the disc gently in the target from up close, provided you let go of the disc entirely so it can "come to rest" in the target.