• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Figuring out the dye process

eky81

Birdie Member
So I'm relatively new to this site, but I have been dying discs for about 6 months now. It has been quite a learning process. I found my first information off the homepage to this website. (oh how I wish I had gone to the forums. :oops: ) My first disc was an elaborate scull on an ace of spades. I used contact paper but had no Idea how to cut it out and put it on the disc. So I used my pumpkin carving method, and taped the picture to my contact paper and cut straight through the pattern and the contact paper. All the way through. I quickly realized that my method was going to make it very difficult to put the image on the disc the way I wanted. So in the end I got the pattern on, but negative of how I wanted. Then dyed the rest of the disc black with acetone and rit. The color was very splotchy and it bled horribly on the teeth. Unfortunately I lost the disc before I could take a picture. (Dang snow) Next a skeeter. Same method. Painted the acetone and rit with a small paintbrush.
300gsaq.jpg

Other than not centering the picture actually turned out quite good. Then tried some pumpkin carving patters. Still using the original cutout method so the color is opposite what I would like. Also tried painting with a thick brush. Bled like crazy.
155nko9.jpg