• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

First time form check

the1discChallenge

Eagle Member
Hey all, this is my first time asking for help on my form. I've always been a casual player who still does field work and wants to improve, but doesn't really have any interest in playing tournaments (though I love playing leagues!).

What I'm mostly asking for advice on is my timing (which will involved a lot of things, probably). I'm getting decent distance and accuracy, but something about my timing feels off and can't self identify. Here are two throws from the side and one from the back. Thanks in advance!

https://youtu.be/Ik-zFhZdytg

A few things I'm realizing after the fact:

Sorry this isn't a landscape video– it was a spur of the moment thing and I only had my bag to prop up my phone!

After watching back a few times, I'm realizing I need to keep the disc away from my body longer before pulling through. Any accuracy inconsistencies I've been having might be due to the disc not staying in a straight line.

Something looks a bit off with my rotation as well, maybe rotating too much?

My plant foot seems to be a little too in line with my back foot. I've been working on getting that a little more out (to the front left of the teepad, if I were on one).

Thanks to you both for the replies and videos. It's funny, I'm a ball golfer as well and the weight shift in my golf swing is much more intuitive than my disc golf form for some reason (though I did play competitive high school golf in 2009 where I had regular instruction, so that probably helps). The Shawn Clement video is particularly helpful with the timing and the "you shift your weight at the top swing" idea.