• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

How far should I be throwing???

ETXdiscguy

Went out to the soccer fields today to throw my elite-z buzz, and my x-stratus. I was consistently throwing the buzzz between 180-200 feet. With the other I was throwing about 210-225 with one going for 275 (no idea how I did that one!). I am a true beginner, but practicing hard to progress my game. I'm doing a rhbh throw, standing still. I can't do a run up yet without it going crazy. Are these distances about normal for a beginner?

Stop thinking of it as a "run up", and turn it into a walk up. Until you're really, REALLY proficient in the rest of your mechanics, the walk up should be much more of a timing mechanism than a power generating mechanism.

It's all rotation to get speed to the disc, so moving your body forward quickly is not the way to generate speed. It's good that you are practicing from stand still to get used to things.

Disc flight is just as important as distance. The Buzzz should be nearly straight without all that much fade.

Once you are throwing it 250' from stand still you should have quite a few things going for you. With proper snap it is pretty reasonable to get a straight flight with medium effort to around 300' from stand still. It can definitely be thrown further than that too. The main thing is that it shouldn't be an overpowered throw...but smooth.

Check out the blog at heavydisc.com and click on the form crash course. He also posts on DGCR as HyzerUniBomber. HUB will get you going in the right direction.