• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Mental game, balance between focus and relaxed?

DiscGolfFev

Background: I have been playing for 4 years, still have major form issues but I am sadly one of the better players in MA2 where I am at (not very competitive). I usually play doubles weekly and usually finish near the top and just got 4th in a singles tournament.

I remember been told I need to relax more, be more smooth, etc. But I found that during tournament I can be too relaxed?

Day 1 of tournament I almost had my 1st ace two holes in, then almost an eagle. So I was doing well, maybe I got too relaxed. Second half I missed few lines and only ended with -2.
Day 2, I started the round bit angry with myself and focused. Started getting birdies left and right. I ended the day with -8 and got 4th for the tournament.

Even then I did throw an jump putt when I should have just laid up and ended with a boggie, that shot alone caused me 3rd place. I think all the doubles game made me too relaxed and have the mind of having fun and try things. That might work well for casual games but for tournaments I need my game face on.

Is this normal? Or are relaxed during shots and focused mental game are just different aspects?

Thanks

Finding your mental plane to be able to latch on and fly is probably the hardest thing about disc golf from a sense of competitiveness.

I can play a tournament and play really well for 9 or 12 holes, then I get bored if I'm with crappy players on my card who are not doing well. And I'm interested in being anywhere but there, and interested in doing anything except throwing good shots or making good putts.