• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Multiflora rosa

Flip55

I work as a guide/greenskeeper/dude at an "adventure" park which has just installed a DGC. Sweet hole design, sweet layout, but the shule is KILLER!!!. I'm talking like 50' square patches of multiflora, black raspberry, and greenbriar:wall:. The weed whacker just isnt cutting it anymore:thmbup: any suggestions?

My experience with multiflora is extensive but successful. You have to double up in layers of denim and carhart wear goggles and take it out at the base using a saw. Then simply drag it out. You d be surprised how fast you can clear a massive patch out when u go directly to the stump. Remain vigilant and stamp it out whenever it sprouts. If there's shade the native flora will take hold and reclaim the environment. Grasses etc.
The key is to commit and take the entire bush out and stop playing around with snippetr
and wackers

lol i'm not sure the goat thing is feasible but i like where your heads at. Would roundup actually kill the multiflora? It seems too tough to be bested by driveway clearer.

roundup is far more than driveway clearer- it will work on multifloral rose. it will also kill pretty much everything else so be responsible with it.

there is another one called banvel that is even better but not as commonly available.

where are you located?- now is a good time to spray if you are far enough south that the plants aren't completely dormant yet- the roundup will sit in the roots all winter and provide more killing punch. (only way to kill wiregrass in my experience other than planting soybeans over it.)