• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

my worthless roller throw advice

compn

Birdie Member
i'm going to drop my roller info, maybe it helps someone. i have about 8 years roller experience. roller is my main throw since i was getting pain in my shoulder doing backhands and then pain in my elbow doing forehands. now i drive with my roller, then up/putt with a forearm or backhand depending on the shot.

if you are wondering about what kinds of distance you can get with a roller, this week i did a nice roller that rolled about 20 feet past a 245ft flat-incline hole at firefighters. so i'd say easily 250ft consistently on flat, mowed grass. i also throw rollers on uphills and downhills (but not huge downhills, like ski hills).

rollers can be made to curve left, right or straight depending on the throw angle, spin, wind, stability and rim of the disc.

there are different roller throws!

normal roller:

for me, i use a two finger grip (fingers on inside rim, thumb on flight plate). the disc first lands about 14 feet in front of the tee. i try to make the disc land so that it does not bounce. a bouncing disc will lose distance and accuracy.

roller bounce:

if you launch your disc into the ground hard, you can get about a 30 ft long air bounce going that will continue bouncing into a standard roller, albeit with a distance penalty. good for bouncing over water/mud hazards. it requires a lot of spin, but works if you need to clear something.

long air roller: