• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Need help finding a pure putter.

wolfmandragon

* Ace Member *
I am new to the sport and when I went to buy my first putter at Dick's sporting goods, I bought the Star Avair P&A. I have issues throwing this disc, no doubt it is the thrower, not the disc, but I am looking for something else.

I can throw the disc at medium high speed backhand fine, I just loose control at low speed or any forehand speed(I throw forehand mostly, except close putting. I have started throwing backhand spike hyzers putts with the intention of grounding it to the right of the basket for a simple drop in.

The hype of the Axiom Envy has convinced me to buy it for my approach disc, as right now I am using an Element-X midrange for this purpose. What I am looking for is a pure putter for close in shots, also something that I can learn to push putt with....and I HATE any disc with a big bead(probably gonna trade my roc3 for this reason).

So far what I have seen on videos and looking at stats, these look interesting.

X-Link firm Ridge.
Gateway Magic.
Discraft Magnet.
X-Link firm V.P.

I am not wedded to any of these discs, perhaps even the Envy alone would be enough. Any thoughts will be gladly entertained.

Thanks

p.s. I am new, so I placed this here. If I need to move it the the Disc thread I will.

The Ridge and VP are much better as driving putters than as pure putting putters. If you want to try Vibram, look into the Sole. The Magnet and Magic are also really good options.

In reality, choosing a putter comes down to what feels right for you. If you can get your hands on some before you actually buy, it may help you narrow down your options.