• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Newer player, doing too much at once?

Steveb91

Hey guys, just joined the site. I've been playing for about 7 months now in the Atlanta area. We have a ton of courses of all skill levels and I'm addicted. Ive recently been playing nearly everyday for the last 3 or 4 months and want to start getting into some rec or intermediate tourneys come next year.

I'm currently happy with my approach shots and getting more comfortable putting, but I have big form issues when it comes to driving. I've recently stopped throwing drivers and am more focusing on mids and fairways. I'm getting the fairways up to about 300-315 on a good day. I'm very competitive and I always find myself trying to push myself further very quickly with nil results.

I have come to the realization that I'm trying to change way too much at once. Instead of taking the good things I am doing correctly and building from that, I find myself trying to incorporate all things at once and it really frustrates me.

What are some Things that helped you guys move forward? I understand that solid form takes time, but I also can't help my compete level. When I do something right, I have a tendency to immediately want to improve on it instead of getting comfortable with it first.

Has anyone else had this issue? And what are some good ways to focus on building on my form instead of basically restructuring my whole throw every time I practice?

Thanks everybody I look forward to hearing from you all and getting to know everyone!