• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Qikly's Bag - A Work in Progress

Qikly

* Ace Member *
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Hello board!

I'm a newbie, both to this forum and to disc golf in general. Been hovering around here for several weeks now, and finally decided to ask my own questions for a change. Many thanks in advance for any and all help.

First, a quick synopsis: I started playing a few weeks ago (not counting one round undertaken ~6 years ago under questionable levels of sobriety), and have really taken to the sport. I'm a composer by trade, which means a lot of hours spent at my desk inside: disc golf seems to be a perfect way to break that up when needed. There are two nearby courses in New Orleans (where I live), including one a 15 minute drive away. When I can't make it out to a course, I have a park around the corner from my apartment that I can go throw at. So I've been getting at least a bit of time in on most nights this past month, and have seen a lot of improvement.

I've been doing a lot of reading up/video watching, and have really taken the "start slow, sort your form out first" advice to heart (reminds me of learning instruments - I enjoy the labor of the process). Garublador's post on building a bag has been especially helpful. I started off by buying a 150 g Skeeter and a 175 g Aviar Classic (both DX). At this point, I'm throwing the Aviar around 175'-200' comfortably. The skeeter varies a bit more, but I'd say achieving 225' is easy, and I've probably pushed 300' a few times. Just to give an idea of where things stand throwing-wise. I've been working a lot of release angles, and find that, generally speaking, I can get either disc to go in the general direction of where I want. Which is, of course, a good thing.