• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

RHBH form check

tooko

Hi!

Long time reader, first post!

So I've been playing for about 14 months now, but my backhand distance has been stuck at about 330ft for 6 months. I was throwing speed 12 discs (D3 was my favourite) for a long time at that 330ft mark but then discovered I have no business throwing those when I throw a speed 7 disc at the same distance mark. I've been throwing the star TL for a month now.

About my form. The biggest thing I am missing for myself, is the sensation of snap or generating spin and explosiveness from the ground up. I am quite familiar with the theory of throwing right but I cannot seem to get the real snap unlocked. Latley I've been watching how Drew Gibson throws. With him, you can hear a strong audible snap and when he follows through, you can see that he has put a lot of energy into the disc because his body just kind of releases upwards even after the throw. I guess that's what I'm after.

In the video, I am actually trying to throw hard and far, but as you can see, it doesn't look very fast which is weird because in my mind I am moving the disc fast :D. That's why I am thinking I am not using my body right. I am rather trying to throw with my arm and that way it is not possible for me to throw much farther.

Here's the video, every tip is warmly welcomed!:)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h_btoqZn5qM

Sorry about the vertical video, wasn't thinking.