• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Starting Disc Golf high school team

Redbone1412

So does anybody on here have any experience in this field? I was wondering if anyone even knows of any high schools in their are that has DG teams. I think this would be one way to really grow the sport if we could actually get teams going in high school. I have a PE and Health degree and will hopefully have a job in a HS before to long and would be able check into this further. I am in central Kentucky so any info from people around here would be great too!

I don't have any answers for you, Red, but it's definitely an idea worth pursuing. You might consider contacting the local club(s) in the area to see if anyone has (and would be willing to lend you) a basket or two to take to the school. Get a few Leopards, Skeeters, and Aviars and set up a temp course for a PE class one day. Show them the ropes, learn them up on the rules, and I'll bet you get a few HS kids addicted.

DG is like crack: A little taste is all it takes. :) Good luck!

It might be more doable to try starting a Disc Golf "Little League" for kids as an after-school activity rather than trying to get into schools. However, the EDGE program may help you get disc golf into schools. Check it out...

http://www.edgediscgolf.org/

I am starting the process of trying to get intramural disc golf for the junior and senior high schools. If it takes off, then try and get some sort of (team) and contact neighboring schools to join and start a conference. I'll let you know if I make any progress. Would love to hear from others as well.