• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Technique Advice for High BMI

Tom_rrsh

** Feel free to skip to the TL;DR version**

First of all, hello! My name is Tom. I am a long time lurker, but I have been using DGCR as a resource for a number of years. I have been playing for nearly 12 years, but I am a devout amateur.

I tried throwing RHBH my entire first year, but I was embarrassingly bad and I was not getting better, so I switched to RHFH. I have been throwing almost exclusively RHFH ever since.

I am a big guy (250 lbs), and even though I am still relatively young (30 in one month from today) I am over a decade removed from my physical prime. I work a desk job, and struggle to get any physical activity in on most days. I have resolved to start playing DG more frequently to become more active. Since I am a big guy, who gets very little exercise, I have identified myself as "high risk" for injury.

I have been reading about disc golf injuries lately, and I am doing everything I can to prevent a serious one from occurring. Everything I have read, and anecdotal evidence from friends, suggests that BH results in fewer injuries, so I am considering developing a RHBH throw, and making this my primary throw. Being a heavy guy, I am worried about all that weight coming down on my right leg during my throw. I am also worried about hurting myself, simply because it is a motion that my body is in no way used to.

Bearing the previous three paragraphs in mind, coupled with the fact that I am much more concerned about my body than my score:

**TL;DR version: I am a large guy who throws RHFH trying to prevent injury***

Should I develop a BH throw or should I stick with the throwing motion I know?

If I should keep throwing RHFH, what should I know to prevent injury?