• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

[Mids] Innova DX Roc

Prince Vegeta

Bogey Member
First thread ever.

I've been playing for a few years casually. My first disc was a Buzzz. I just recently started taking the sport seriously and began working on my form. My dog chewed it up so I replaced it with a 180g Buzzz esp. It's automatic. Super consistent. Does what I need it to. I then bought a 177g DX rancho roc to compare the two. I read that the roc has a bit more fade to it which is what I was hoping for.

For some reason I can't groove with the roc. It's probably my form, but I feel I play with a bit of consistency and shot shaping now that I've been working on it. The roc for me flips up and glides right on my right handed backhand throws every time (even on a hyzer). I guess the positive is that it is consistent. I just imagined it would have some fade to it. I can throw throw the roc and my buzzz around 300 feet. Maybe a bit more with the buzzz if I wanted to.

Any opinions? Thank you.

Roc are much less tolerant of form flaws than Buzzzes. If you're "turning over" your Roc, you need to clean up your form. You've likely developed some bad habits that you'll have to break.

I agree with tbird888. If a new DX Roc "flips up and glides right" when throwing "around 300 feet" then something very unusual is happening. That Roc is not flying like a Roc.

Possible causes:
Headwind
Exceptionally understable disc geometry
Maybe the bead messes with your release?
Form flaws / off-axis torque

To give the Roc a fair shot, you should determine which of these is causing the Roc to not fly right.