• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Ace Trophy, award, bag patch?

dasteve003

So I've been playing about 3 times a week since April and I hit my first ace yesterday, super super exciting! Hole is about 180-220 ft long and hit it right off the tee (on my only tee shot of course, didn't tee off with multiple discs or anything)

The question I have is what to do celebrate it? I've seen bag patches, trophy's, and stuff like that but it there anything that is typical when you ace a hole or is it just about bragging rights that your now a member of the Ace club (if there's a different term for it let me know).

Again I'm still very new to the game and this may be a silly question but I am super pumped about it and wanted to do a little something for myself to celebrate this awesome accomplishment! Any ideas would be appreciated, thanks!

Have a picture taken with you, the disc and the basket in it. You can retire the disc as a trophy if you so please. If you had witnesses, have them sign the disc.

And keep things in perspective. You threw a disc into a basket from a long distance off a tee pad. I'm sure it was an exciting experience, but stop equating it to some right of passage that needs more documentation than what I suggested. It wasn't like your first time getting laid or anything.

Oh, and don't be like this douche....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5flNiT7uQ8c

Most disc golfer's i know take their first ace disc and hang it up or display it but stop playing with it so they dont lose it. I have one friend who hangs up any ace disc and buys a new disc to replace it. I just take a picture of the moment and had the people im playing with sign it if they wanted to. But i keep playing with my ace discs.