• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

[Putters] Driving putters.

RedBear23

Bogey Member
I have been looking into getting a driving putter, but the only putter that I have seen that has driver in its name is the Aviar Driver/putter. Is the Aviar Driver/putter a good choice? I am used to using the Aviar mold because I have been using an Aviar putter ever since I started playing and recently bought an Omega super soft putter, which from what I can tell is the same mold as an Aviar.

Any advice would be appreciated. I tried looking for the thread about driving putters, but I was unable to do so.

Wizards will no doubt be recommended as a workhorse driving putter, along with the Ion, Anode, Judge, Pa1, Pa2, Challenger, Warlock and so many more.

You should look for a premium plastic putter whose flight you like or a fairly overstable basic plastic putter so that you can cycle them into whatever shots you wish to fill.

The Aviar Driver is simply the Big Bead Aviar. Yes the Big Bead Aviar makes a great driving putter, especially in KC Pro plastic.

Aviar Driver, KC Pro Aviar, JK Aviar, Yeti Pro Aviar are all big bead Aviars. The Yeti has a sunken top, but otherwise they're the same mold in different plastics. Wizards and Ions and Challengers are very similar beaded putters. All are great for driving!

Millenium makes the Omega and their Driver, and big bead driver are stiff like the Innova's KC pro Aviar. I use the Innova big bead DX plastic. Stiff and really straight.

The Omega is a former Aviar mold called the Small Bead Aviar. The Aviar Driver has a larger bead on it and is considered the Big Bead Aviar. There is also a no bead Aviar called the PnA (putt and approach).