• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

[Question] Lifecycle of a disc

MNThrower

Birdie Member
Hi everyone. I did try the search function but just couldn't come up with the right combination of words to find what I was looking for. Point me in the right direction and make me feel like a jerk if necessary :thmbup:

I'm still pretty new to DG and am wondering what the lifecycle is for a disc for everyone - generally speaking - whe it comes to Dx or Pro D.

So for example, take this Dx Wraith that I bought to replace the Pro that I lost last season. I play 2-4 times a week on various courses, sometimes only 9 holes sometimes more than 18 in a day.

Seemed like it took about 2-3 weeks to break in to where I could throw it flat (beat-in to spec I guess), then it took the last 2 maybe 3 months to get beat up enough to become flippy and my go-to anhyzer disc - always throws straight. Now it seems to be getting almost too flippy and ends up becoming an unintentional backhand roller occasionally.

Questions: I'm wondering when do I call this one done and have to start beating in a new one? Or do I just continually adjust my release point as it gets beat up? Are Dx only good for a season or less depending? How long does it take you to break a disc in? Do other manufacturers make discs you have to break in to spec like Innova?

I did buy a Pro and a KC Star Wraith in order to hopefully get some different stabilities with the same mold. Star is ridiculously overstable. The Pro was beat in perfectly last season but unfortunately the phone number karma gods did not shine down on me.