• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Male vs Female Skill Levels

apparition

Double Eagle Member
Silver level trusted reviewer
After reading a post about how the PDGA should try to boost the numbers of women in the sport, it got me thinking on the way to work about the difference in skill level between genders/sexes. The only female I've played with is my wife, so I have no firsthand knowledge of professional females (other than watching videos of Catrina and Paige). How different is the skill level, really? Have men and women ever competed against one another in disc golf? Or is the skill gap too high, like in other sports?

I think women can be and are just as skilled as men, in some cases more skilled. I think whatever limitations exist are physical rather than a question of skill. So I guess the question is whether physical attributes (height, strength, etc) are "skills" or not.

My feeling is if something can't be taught or practiced or learned, it's not what I'd classify as a "skill". Height can't be taught or learned. Physical strength can be improved, but for all people, the limits to which it can be improved varies significantly...that's the part that isn't a "skill", IMO.

In terms of disc golf, we have a rather gender-neutral measure with ratings, and the top women in the world based on ratings are clearly not at the same level as the top men, but they clearly can beat out a good deal of the men in the game. I don't think this is any different than what we see in any other sport. That doesn't mean women don't possess all the same game skills that the men do, but there is some other physical limitation that makes the difference.