• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Music During Cash League Rounds

foxdawg10

Double Eagle Member
There is a weekly cash league at a private I have been playing for a few years now. Something fun to do on Saturdays and sometimes I play well enough to bring some extra folding money home.

So yesterday out of the blue one of the regulars on our card decides on his own to start playing his music loudly on a bluetooth speaker. It was unexpected because we have never done that at this league in the past. He didn't take the courtesy to ask us if we minded a little music or whatever. After a hole or two of figuring out how I was going to respond, I finally asked him if he minded turning the volume down. I didn't want to ruing the card vibe by asking him to completely shut it off, which is really what I wanted to do.

I personally don't even like listening to someone else's music during a casual round. If you want music, just put on ear buds or at least make sure ever one on the card is OK with it.

Has anyone else come across this at a cash league? I'm just wondering how others have dealt with this situation.

I haven't had this happen in league play, but if it did I would ask the guy to turn it way down. Better yet, get another cardmate to join you in asking the guy to turn it down.
This is like someone bringing their 2 year old to league. It forces other people to be the bad guy when in fact the guy bringing the loud music or child or uncontrolled dog should have enough sense to realize most people don't want the distractions.
Maybe talk to the person who runs the league and see if they would speak to the guy or make an announcement.