• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

New Guy in Erie, PA

iacas

* Ace Member *
Hi,

I'm actually a golf professional, but my "PGA" doesn't have a "D" in it. :)

I'm in Erie, PA and the first time I played disc golf was at Night Heron Park on Kiawah Island, SC back in early July. Since then I've driven to Duck Run (it was frightening, and my nine-year-old daughter and I promptly left - there was a run-down boat beside one of the holes, lots of tall weeds, etc.). I've played 18 holes at Roscoe Ewing (we teach several prominent golfers in Medina, OH) and had a blast with two people who had never played before. I am looking forward to going to Pymatuning State Park on Monday.

I have a number of questions and I'm not sure if this is the best place to post this thread, but I thought I'd try it here and if it needs moved, a moderator can perhaps move it, please?

-----

Erie is definitely not a disc golf hotbed. We've got no disc golf courses within about 30 minutes. Pymatuning is about 45 minutes away and I hear there's one in Ashtabula, OH but I haven't checked it out yet.

Pymatuning is currently rated 3.46 and the one in Lake Shore Park in Ashtabula, OH is rated 3.63. So they seem like reasonable courses, albeit, farther away than I'd prefer.

I'm seriously considering proposing to the city (the suburb Millcreek, not Erie) that we install a disc golf course somewhere. There's a nine-hole muni golf course that was closed in most of 2012 and will re-open as a four-hole course in 2013 due to an airport runway expansion, but I'd almost prefer to see them open it as a disc golf course. I think that would make more sense, albeit, it might be boring as there aren't many trees or anything. Maybe there's another property somewhere in Erie that would make a nice disc golf course.