• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Releasing Straight

Vega

So I'm gonna start by saying that because I cannot provide a video, I'm going to make this a very, very descriptive post about how I throw to provide all details necessary.. Sorry if this gets a bit lengthy.

I started playing about 6 months ago coming off of an ultimate frisbee kick after I watched some YouTube videos of a pro tournament. Up until now every single thing I've learned about the game has come from (90%) YouTube tutorials and (10%) actually playing and learning my own style. However, I have not had the chance to play with anyone better than me who could offer tips or critique in person. I'm a little better than the guys I started playing with, and they haven't really been able to help me out.

I can throw far, 400 ft. on a good throw, 450 on a great one, and I've done 475 a couple times. I accredit this to the great snap I produced from trying to throw an Ultimate disc farther and farther. I've been trying to improve my game as fast as possible to prepare for the upcoming year's tournament season at my (somewhat) local courses, and the method I'd chose is simple: I pick what is currently the worst part of my game and pound on it until I get it down, then move on to the next worst.

Now, the worst part of my game has been the same thing for quite a while... it is a problem that I have not been able to greatly improve despite how much effort I've been putting into it: RELEASING STRAIGHT!