• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Upgrading from a starter pack

BCalef

Hi. I am just getting into disc golf. I bought the innova disc golf starter pack and am having a lot of fun with it. I have started doing some field work to improve my form and gain some distance and control. I have thrown my leopard over 300ft a few times but I am consistently in the 250-300 distance. I find that I am turning it way over fairly easily and having it cut to the right and sometimes not go very far or accidentally turn it over into a roller when throwing into the wind. Is this because I am putting too much power into the disc or am I just releasing it too flat? Also I am looking into getting some more discs. I am think of getting a new aviar in dx thats heavier than the one i have from the starter pack or a kc pro aviar. From what I have read, putters are very personal with regards to feel so I guess I will know once I try it. I was locking at a dx roc3 for a midrange to complement my shark which I actually quite like, a champion teebird or an eagle to handle throwing into the wind which it appears my leopard can't do, and a valkyrie. I don't think the valkyrie is absolutely necessary but it is fun to try and push the distance. I am working on form and I know I have a few flaws in my backhand like stepping with my plant foot pointing forwards and turning too far backwards in my x-step.

Is it better to just focus on form with the lightweight starter discs or is it worth it to add some new discs to be able to start learning how to throw them and to have more to practice with and can be used in different situations? Is this the right way to progress form technique and learning the different kinds of throws?