• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

[Innova] Viking

AdamCaudle

Double Eagle Member
I've been playing regularly again for the past 2 months and I'm getting some decent controlled D again with my teebirds and leopard. I remember my first distance driver I got when I was a noob was a viking, and it was a good straight flyer then, also my first ace disc. I've been thinking about stepping up to one when for when I need nice controlled distance. FWIW I throw my Teebirds and leopard about 290-310 on average sometimes I can get the Teebird out to about 330-350 when I get better control of my nose angle and some decent snap. What do you guys think about me trying out the Viking. Yea or nay? I don't see too many people throwing them or talking about them on here, I think they are a very underrated disc.

Well I've heard it here and there but not many people throw it like you said and when disc sales tank...innova just renames the mold as something else (cough) lycan and resells more. I do think it's a good next step up from teebirds and leos

Yeah I like it as a good easy to throw distance driver, though it doesn't feel as flippy as something like a Valk.

I throw for similar distance with a Star Teebird, and like you, enjoy the Viking. I find it can hold a nice flat line for a long time with a small hyzer flip, but is still safely stable enough to throw flat and not turnover to an extreme (like a beat Valk can). Because of it's accuracy, it seems like a natural step up from the Teebird when you've got the form to get it up to speed.