• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Were PROs content before Paul got his disc line?

seedlings

* Ace Member *
Paul already had his own Discraft molds before I started playing. Seems like lots of pros now are telling their sponsors what kind of molds they want, and are getting them with regularity.

You think PROs were more content with molds available before Paul got his own line of discs? Or were they always wishing they could get certain flights on a disc, and now they can?

I think the manufacturers have always kind of listened to their pros and made or retooled discs to cater to them.

They didn't have their own line of discs but they definitely had discs that were made to suit their game and they usually stuck their signature on them.

It's not a new thing. Here's Brinster talking about how Innova modified the Teebird for him back in 2013: (go to 6:30; time stamp not working apparently)

What is maybe new is the fact that he could get an entire line with his name on them so he gets royalties on every disc sold. But KC kinda had that going already -- he may not have been there when the roc and aviar molds came out, but I think he had a lot of input on their development (see the difference between the 10x aviar and all previous, the difference between the rancho roc that got used for the KCs and the previous san marinos and ontarios).

McBeth kinda put all that together into one contract. I don't see a lot of other players getting that treatment without world championships -- Pierce, Allen, Conrad...are there others?

Last edited:
It's not a new thing. Here's Brinster talking about how Innova modified the Teebird for him back in 2013: (go to 6:30; time stamp not working apparently)