• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Big Bag Respect

Forehander

I've been playing dg for around 6 years now, probably only about 3 seriously. I don't know if I'm just generalizing here but it seems to me like having a big bag always lends to people respecting me more on the dg courses.

a couple of examples:
last march i played my first collegiate dg event, and at that time all I had was a six disc Nutsac. My teammates and I were literally the only ones there without tournament sized bags. the entire warm up round we received strange looks from other teams, and at one point some guy even had the gall to walk right up to me, look me up and down, and then laugh and walk off. between this event and the actually National collegiate championship our coach secured 6 tournament bags from F.A.D.E. . upon arriving no one seemed to question whether we were legitimate discgolfers or give us strange looks.

secondly, I play a lot by myself because my schedule doesn't allow me to be out on the dg course for a long period of time. I play fairly quickly, and often i don't want to lug around my tournament bag with all 20 discs, so Ill either take the nutsac or just play a round with a good mid. More often than not,when i just have a few discs, upon coming up on a larger group of Disc golfers (all with tourney bags) I get ignored and they don't ever ask me to play through, even to the point of me standing at the teebox right behind as they all tee off. Yet, when i decide to bring along my fancy F.A.D.E. bag people go out of their way to let me play on through.:\

Now, this isn't 100% of the time situation but it does seem to happen this way for me a lot! why don't people pay more attention to how good a person is throwing rather than the bag strapped to somebody's back?