• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Best Tone Pole Design (Or Non Basket)?

Agarner14

I'm relatively new to disc golf, but very much enjoying the newbie experience so far. I first started experimenting with real disc golf discs while spending some time at my family cabin in the mountains of SE Montana. We are fortunate to have a considerable amount of open, rolling grassland mixed with aspen groves and conifer forests. For the past two summers we have played with random objects as targets (gate posts, trees, wheelbarrows, etc), and now that I'm getting more into the sport, I'd like to start incorporating some cheaper, non-permanent targets as well as Islands and OB into our ever evolving course up there.

My basic question is this: What are your recommendations for a relatively cheap (<$30 (ish)/target) targets? I can brainstorm up some ideas, particularly with PVC piping and metal fencing posts, but I'd love to see some pictures if you have any as well as other thoughts. I do have some tools, but no welding experience.

Thanks in advance.

After pricing out metal cylinder$$$, I made these out of pvc, an old disc, some aluminum window blind slats cut to 21", 12 paper clips and two screws. Cost about $3 each if you have some old discs available. Slid them into alternate sleeves or just stuck them in the ground to try out new basket positions. Then created a blended birdie bash course. They've held up for about a year so far, once I doubled the slats to hold up better in the breeze.
0c6f5791.jpg

Walmart.com. YaheeTech.

$60.

Once you get one, you will buy more and forget home made.

Otherwise, youtube. Numerous home made versions that are decent. The problem is making a decent basket for less than 60$.

Here's oNe concept that's not too bad:

L shaped shelf brackets (12)