• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Five Ten shoes!

Rescue

Eagle Member
Since I started playing disc golf. I've been on the hunt for a disc golf shoe that will last for more than a month or two. I think my search is over! I've owned a few pairs of their hiking shoes, but found them to be to rigid of a design for me (made for serious hiking and rock climbing). While shopping for a new pair of disc golf shoes, I saw that they also make shoes for mountain biking without toe clips. So I purchased a pair of Five Ten Impacts (high tops). I was a little skeptical due to their very tacky soles, but man, these have to be the best disc golf shoes I've ever owned!

Pros:
Rigid/stiff mid soles, high top and thick leather construction make for great lateral support.
Thick sole that also comes up over the midsole and toe area. This has kept the sole from pealing away from the midsole.
Simple sole pattern, but still has fantastic gripping abillity. Super thick tounge that is attached to one side of the shoe. This makes for great ankle support.
For a thick and bulky looking shoe, there was no breakin needed, very comfortable as well.
Very well made shoe (code for, they are not cheap!).
The grip is off the hook! I bought these approx six months ago, so I've only played in wet/moist conditions, but I have not had to worry about slipping on cement teepads. It feels like I'm playing on bone dry teepads.

Cons:
Not sure if they be to grippy once everything dries up. However, I've "practiced" my run up on the sidewalk. Although they gripped well, I didn't find them to be extreme.
Tred pattern is pretty vanilla, not sure how they would hold up to a course at a ski resort (very rocky).